Liberal Party of the Philippines

The Liberal Party (LP) was founded on 19 January 1946 by Manuel Roxas, the first president of the Third Republic. It was formed by President Roxas from what was once the “Liberal Wing” of the old Nacionalista Party. Two more presidents of the Philippines elected into office came from the LP: Elpidio Quirino and Diosdado Macapagal. Two other presidents came from the ranks of the LP, being former members of the Party that choose to follow a different path and joined the Nacionalistas: Ramon Magsaysay and Ferdinand Marcos.

During the days leading to Martial Rule, Marcos would find his old party as a potent roadblock to his quest for one-man rule. Led by Ninoy Aquino, Gerry Roxas and Jovito Salonga, the LP would time and again hound the would-be dictator on issues like human rights and the curtailment of freedom. Not even the declaration of Martial Law silenced the LP, and it continued to fight the dictatorship despite the costs. Many of its leaders and members were prosecuted and even killed during this time.

In recent times, the LP was instrumental in ending more than half-a-century of US Military presence in the Philippines with its campaign in the Senate of 1991 to reject a new RP-US Bases Treaty. This ironically cost the Party dearly, losing for it the Elections of 1992. In 2000, it showed its mettle by standing against the corruption of the Estrada Administration, actively supporting the Resign-Impeach-Oust initiatives that led to People Power II. In 2004, it again stood its ground as the Party withdrew its support from former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo following controversies of her election into office.

In 2009, the Party mounted a historic campaign for the 2010 elections with Senators Noynoy Aquino and Mar Roxas as frontrunners following the death of former President Corazon Aquino and widespread calls for genuine change in the country.

The LP has successfully reclaimed the national ruling party status with the momentous victory of President Noynoy Aquino in the last May 2010 national elections, together with majority of its allies in the House of Representatives and local government units.



Benigno Aquino III
President of the Republic of the Philippines

Franklin Drilon
Vice Chairperson
Senate President of the Philippines

Feliciano Belmonte, Jr.
Vice Chairperson
Speaker, Philippine House of Representatives

Joseph Emilio Abaya
Executive President and Acting President
Philippine Secretary of Transportation and Communication


BALAY Expo Centro Building EDSA cor. MacArthur Avenue Araneta Center, Cubao, Quezon City
Telephone: +63 2 709 3826
Fax: +63 2 709 3829


About Us

The Council of Asian Liberals and Democrats (CALD) was inaugurated in Bangkok in 1993, with the support of then Thai Prime Minister Chuan Leekpai and South Korea’s Kim Dae-Jung. CALD, which offers a unique platform for dialogue and cooperation, is the only regional alliance of liberal and democratic political parties in Asia.
Unit 410, 4/F La Fuerza Plaza 2, 2241 Don Chino Roces Ave. corner Sabio St., 1231 Makati City, Philippines
+632 8196071; +63998 576 0877


Contact Us